CEO's Message

photo : Kwok Lit-tung, JP  Chief Executive

 Kwok Lit-tung, JP

Chief Executive 

The mission of Christian Family Service Centre is to serve the people in need and to support family functioning. Through ten core services and two special services, together with various innovative projects, we strive to achieve our mission with a wide spectrum of quality services.

In the year 2020-2021, the operation was overwhelmingly interrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic. Most of the group services and mass activities have to be cut down while some services could be delivered alternatively through online mode or using other innovative means. In whatever ways, the service users under our care were well taken care of.

Despite the interruptions caused by COVID-19, our services continued to grow substantially in 2020-2021.

For Elderly Care Service, we experienced a drastic increase of number of frail cases in the home and community care service in 2020-2021. Under the Government initiative to improve the elderly community care, an additional 165 services quota under the Integrated Home Care Service (Frail Cases) was allocated to CFSC in two phases, with 80 new cases added from October 2020 and 85 cases added from April 2021, making CFSC’s total IHC frail case service quota to 235. In addition, the Enhanced Home and Community Care Services (EHCCS) subvention mode was changed from contractual basis to Lump Sum Grant (LSG) basis starting from September 2020 which brought about a transfer of 935 frail cases to LSG with stable subvention.

During the year, we obtained fruitful resources to strengthen support for carers in elderly care. In particular, the Ronald and Rita McAulay Foundation supported a three-year “Emergency Assistance and Bridging Services” for extending the current Kwun Tong emergency carer support service to Wong Tai Sin from October 2020; the HKEX Foundation supported a two-year Community Transitional Care Project “Walking With You” from February 2021 for helping elderly and caregivers who suffered from strokes and were discharged early from hospitals; the District Social Welfare Department Office supported a 6-month resilience training programme for 169 carers to fight against muscle loss; and The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust subsidised a two-year Caregivers Community Support Project “Stand-by U” to support 300 families across Kowloon East from February 2021. With different service models piloted for carer support, we see the need to share and integrate our practice wisdom to enhance the carer service planning.

In addition, We were so thankful to have the backup from The HKJC Charities Trust to support the delivery of many meaningful projects for elderly people which include the continuation of the JoyAge Project from January 2020, an 18-month “Special Project for Elderly Under COVID-19” from December 2020 to support 1,600 elders who live alone or as an elderly couple during the pandemic, and the “JC EngAged Elderly Project” from September 2020 to engage socially isolated elders with online social activities.

In promoting active ageing, the DECC made the best and full use of social media to organise online group activities and live events. Taking the opportunity provided by the epidemics, 900 elderly members were taught the basics of information communication technology for them to keep in touch with community.

For the Medical and Health Services, we played the important role of a primary health care unit. We joined the Government’s COVID-19 vaccination programme and provided vaccination service to the public. Our Kwun Tong Chinese Medicine Clinic cum Training and Research Centre offered specialised Chinese medicine services to patients recovering from COVID-19. We were appointed by SWD as the service operator of the “Time-limited Programme on Enhancing Infection Control and Ventilation” for Kowloon East and Kowloon West (I) between December 2020 to December 2021 through which we assessed the infection control measures at private residential care homes in the two districts and to give training and advice to the operators as needed.

For Services for People with Disabilities, a total of eight new and re-located service units were fully commenced in the mid-year of 2020, including six units in Kai Nang Integrated Rehabilitation Services Complex (KNIRSC) and two units in So Uk Estate. We are particularly grateful that a permanent service centre for the Wellness Zone - Integrated Community Centre for Mental Wellness was finally set up in Tseung Kwan O after 10 years of operation with scattered service sites. The fitting out works started in July 2020 and the Centre opened to public in July 2021. In terms of service focus, the Wellness Zone received various special funding support for parents support, health awareness, student anxiety, women’s mental health and elderly mental health.

In supporting families, our Family Energizer - Integrated Family Service served as a central hub in receiving help enquires during the pandemic, assessing eligibility for various resources and providing urgent support and referral. For instance, the number of help enquires had increased 42% in 2020-2021. In supporting parents, we launched the “Walking through the Stormy Days - Parents Learning Platform” to help parents getting along with their grown up kids. And with the timely developed SMART Family-link technology, a range of activities were organised online to support individuals and families.

For Youth and Education Services, we were able to join the Pilot Scheme on Social Work Service for Pre-Primary Institution with The Lok Sin Tong Benevolent Society Kowloon. And from August 2020, we started the social worker services for three kindergartens under CFSC.

The year 2020-2021 was a hectic year for the organisation. Circumstances changed swiftly. The community needs and demands changed rapidly as well. Coupled with spectacular growth of service types and volume in the last two years, we faced both challenges, uncertainties and possibilities. I am full of gratitude that I have a team of co-workers who stick to the mission of CFSC and work collaboratively and diligently that keep us as a whole to work for the benefit of our city. Probably this is the last service report I wrote for the Annual Report, I would like to once again thank our Board members for their support, trust and guidance that gives me an enjoyable eighteen and a half years working journey in CFSC.

总干事的话

相片 : 总幹事 郭烈东 JP

总幹事 郭烈东 JP

基督教家庭服务中心的使命是服务有需要人士,并致力促进家庭功能。本会透过十个核心服务及二项特别服务和多个创新服务计划,为社会大众提供多元优质服务,实践机构使命。

2020-2021年,新冠肺炎疫情打乱了服务的节奏,团体活动及社区大型活动都需要暂停,部分服务改为以网上形式或以其他创新方式推行。无论如何,有需要我们照顾的服务使用者,都能得到适切的照顾。

虽然服务的提供受到影响,但整体来说,本会2020-2021年的服务仍有大幅增长。

在长者照顾服务方面,由於政府在去年大幅改善家居照顾服务,本会获批额外资源,分两阶段增加综合家居照顾服务体弱个案名额。先在2020年10月增加80个名额,然後在2021年4月再增加85个名额,连同原本的70个名额,体弱个案的总名额将增加至235个。此外,由2020年9月开始,本会改善家居及社区照顾服务的935个服务名额亦会转为以整笔拨款模式资助。

去年,本会多项护老者服务得到不同基金的支持。现时在观塘区推行的「想你有支援─紧急护老服务」在2020年10月再次获得The Ronald and Rita McAulay Foundation的资助,把服务扩展到黄大仙区,为期叁年;香港交易所慈善基金支持一项两年期「乐 • 同行─照顾者支援计划」,为中风及跌倒後骨折刚出院长者提供无缝衔接的社区复康过渡计划;社会福利署观塘地区办事处资助「护老同行─『疫』有转『肌』计划」,鼓励169名留家防疫的护老者和长者多做运动,以强化肌肉;此外在2021年2月开展由香港赛马会慈善信託基金资助为期两年的「赛马会友『伴』同盟护老者支援计划」,为东九龙区300个护老者家庭提供支援。上述各项计划尝试以不同模式支援护老者,稍後我们将整合各项计划的推行经验,希望可优化护老者服务模式。

我们要特别感谢香港赛马会慈善信託基金为本会的长者服务作多方面的支援。除了上述的护老者支援服务,基金也支持本会在2020年1月推出为期4年的「乐龄同行」计划;一项为期18个月,支援1,600名独居及双居长者的「抗疫同行」计划;与及一项在2020年9月开展的「耆待破隔」长者计划,为240名有社交疏离的长者提供支援及适切网上社交活动。

在推动积极乐颐年方面,本会两间长者地区中心去年致力运用社交媒体,推行网上小组及直播活动,协助超过900名长者掌握资讯科技的应用,让他们在疫情下仍能与社区保持联繫。

在疫情期间,本会的医疗健康服务发挥著基层医疗服务单位的角色。本会诊所参与政府疫苗注射计划,为公众人士提供免费疫苗注射;中医诊所暨教研中心(观塘区)由2020年4月开始提供特别诊疗服务,为2019冠状病毒康复出院病人提供免费中医内科诊疗服务;此外,本会获社会福利署委派,在2020年12月至2021年12月期间,为九龙东及九龙西(1)内135间私营院舍免费提供「改善院舍感染控制及通风设备计划」,除了实地检查院舍的感染控制措施,也为员工提供防疫知识及改善建议。

在残疾人士服务方面,启能综合康复服务大楼内的六项服务和苏屋邨的二项服务已在2020年中全面投入运作。特别感到欣慰的,是本会的「和悦轩─精神健康综合社区中心」,在运作了十年後,终於在将军澳觅得永久服务会址。新中心在2020年7月开始装修,在2021年7月完成工程并开放予公众使用。过去一年,和悦轩获得多个基金资助,在不同範畴推动关注精神健康的工作,包括支援家长的「家 • 添晴─家长支援计划」、推动实践健康生活的「赛马会康宁『身』世纪计划」、减轻学生焦虑的「艺术『保抗』力技能解锁计划」、关注妇女健康的「姊妹跑、跃动心灵计划」、及推行第二期关注长者精神健康的「乐龄同行」计划。

在支援家庭方面,活力家庭坊(综合家庭服务)在疫情期间扮演着支援中枢,包括接听求助查询、评估援助资格、恰当转介、及寻找资源等等前线工作。在2020-2021年,单单在求助查询方面便增加了42%。此外,中心持续推行支援家长的工作,去年推出「一起走过逆风的日子」家长学堂,协助家长面对孩子青春期反叛的衝击;同时积极利用「赛马会智家乐计划」的资讯科技平台,推出各类线上活动,保持对家庭的支援。

赛马会跳跃青年坊因疫情原因暂停了不少实体服务,但发展了多项网上支援模式,开拓更多接触青年人的途径和空间。去年透过和九龙乐善堂合作,成功参与「学前单位提供社工服务先导计划」,并在去年九月开始为本会叁间幼稚园提供社工服务。

2020-2021年是忙乱的一年。外在环境瞬息万变,社会对服务的需求和期望有增无减,加上过去两年机构的服务有大幅发展,同事们每天忙於面对接踵而来的新挑战,充分感受到各种不确定性及可能性。我感恩与我共事的团队,在压力的环境下仍然秉持机构的使命和信念,衷诚合作,努力不懈,为社会服务。今年的报告,将是本人最後的一份总幹事报告,我再次感谢董事会多年来给我的支持和指导,让我能够在基督教家庭服务中心愉快地服务了18年半。